Balance of Power

Balance of Power is an American progressive metal band led by lead vocalist Lance King (ex-King's Machine).

Balance of Power-When the World Falls Down (Anthem) 1997

1. "96.11.28;14:00" (:49)
2. "Against All Odds" (5:08)
3. "Overnight Sensation" (4:31)
4. "Can't Close the Book" (5:07)
5. "Hide Your Heart" (5:44)
6. "Balance of Power" (6:10)
7. "Don't Wait Until Tomorrow" (5:26)
8. "Something for Your Head" (5:57)
9. "When Love is On Your Side" (6:55)
10. "The Real Thing (Carry on Dreaming)" (6:35)
11. "These Are the Days" (5:07)
12. "unlisted track" (4:40)
13. "Summers Over" (5:09)

Balance of Power's debut album has some striking similarities to their following albums, but is also quite different. The biggest and most noticable difference is that original vocalist Tony Ritchie sounds nothing like Lance King. The other noticable difference is that the song writing seems less complex and more on the commercial, melodic hard rock side of the musical spectrum. That is not to say this is a bad cd at all, however. Actually it is quite enjoyable and I can't imagine any fan of the band's other releases not also liking this disc. What I will say is that adding Lance King to the band was a wise decision as his voice adds quite a bit to their sound and style, and for me he is missed on this disc. I finally found a copy of this disc at a decent price after years of searching and bidding.

If anyone knows the title of track 12, please let me know.

Book of Secrets Balance of Power-Book of Secrets (Nightmare) 1998

1. "Desert of Lost Souls" (:53)
2. "Walking On Top of the World" (7:04)
3. "Book of Secrets" (7:42)
4. "When Heaven Calls You Name" (6:20)
5. "It's Not Over" (5:02)
6. "Do You Dream of Angels" (5:46)
7. "Seven Days Into Nevermore" (6:49)
8. "Miracles & Dreams" (8:02)
9. "Stranger Days (To Come)" (5:40)

Of the two cds bought simultaneously, "Book of Secrets" and "Ten More Tales," this is my favorite. Both discs have some very tight musicianship, clean production, and some great songs, but "Book of Secrets" seems to be a bit heavier and have a few more hooks. Lance King's vocals are as high as a guy's voice can get, which works well with the music. Most of the songs on this disc are tied together with some sort of spoken word or effect between the songs. This album is some sort of concept record describing end times based on the Holy Bible, but since no lyrics are included, it's hard to follow the storyline.

Ten MoreTales... Balance of Power-Ten More Tales of Grand Illusion (Nightmare) 1999

1. "Day Breaker" (4:23)
2. "Prisoner of Pride" (5:53)
3. "Savage Tears" (7:07)
4. "Under the Spell" (5:07)
5. "Blind Man" (6:52)
6. "About to Burn" (5:21)
7. "Under Innocent Wing" -instrumental (1:21)
8. "Sins of the World" (4:48)
9. "The Darker Side" (4:32)
10. "Ten More Tales of Grand Illusion" (7:32)

OK, I know I said that Book of Secrets was my favorite, but that does not mean that this disc is a slacker. Most of the above review applies to this disc as well. Picked up both these discs for $12 each through Nightmare Records.

Perfect Balance Balance of Power-Perfect Balance (Nightmare) 2001

1. "Higher than the Sun" (7:03)
2. "Shelter Me" (5:18)
3. "Fire Dance" (6:51)
4. "One Voice" (5:24)
5. "The Pleasure Room" (6:04)
6. "Killer of the Cure" (5:37)
7. "House of Cain" (5:07)
8. "Hard Life" (6:35)
9. "Searching for the Truth" (4:47)

Yet another killer, powerful, melodic progressive metal monster. Another in a row of fantastic discs from BOP. The US version on Nightmare also contains video footage. The European version on Massacre Records has a different cover I believe but does not include the enhanced disc video.

Back to Index