Blue Murder

Blue Murder (Geffen) 1989

1. "Riot" (6:21)
2. "Sex Child" (5:59)
3. "Valley of the Kings" (7:51)
4. "Jelly Roll" (4:44)
5. "Blue Murder" (4:55)
6. "Out of Love" (6:44)
7. "Billy" (4:11)
8. "Ptolemy" (6:29)
9. "Black-Hearted Woman" (4:47)

Picked this on up because the line-up included John Sykes of Thin Lizzy/Whitesnake fame on guitar. Also in the band is Tony Franklin on bass and Carmine Appice, drums and backing vocals. The music is a bit to much on the pop rock side for my liking, but it's not terrible either. Sykes is a great guitarist, although I prefer his work with Thin Lizzy. They also released an album called "Nothing But Trouble" in 1993.

Nothin' But Trouble Blue Murder- Nothin' But Trouble (Geffen) 1993

1. "We All Fall Down" (4:47)
2. "Itchyoo Park" (3:46)
3. "Cry for Love" (6:57)
4. "Runaway" (5:58)
5. "Dance" (4:08)
6. "I'm on Fire" (4:45)
7. "Save My Love" (4:48)
8. "Love Child" (5:29)
9. "Shouldn't Have Let You Go" (4:10)
10. "I Need an Angel" (7:02)
11. "She Knows" (3:38)

John Sykes returns with the second disc on Geffen with a completely new band that included bassist Marco Mendoza, who later went on to do the Thin Lizzy reunion with Mr. Sykes. In any case, this disc has a big, beefy 80's sound with big choruses and even bigger production. The first disc, never grew on me, but this one has already seen play several times within the first week since I have had it. John's voice is stronger than ever as are his shredding guitar solos. To bad it took four years to follow up the debut. I can imagine that this hurt the band's following considerably. "Itchyoo Park" is a Small Faces cover.

Back to Index