Jason Bonham - In the Name of My Father-The Zepset: Live from Electric Ladyland
(Sony) 1996

1. "In the Evening" (7:15)
2. "Ramble On" (5:36)
3. "The Song Remains the Same" (5:46)
4. "What Is and What Should Never Be" (5:15)
5. "The Ocean" (4:47)
6. "Since I've Been Loving You" (7:53)
7. "Communication Breakdown" (4:58)
8. "Ten Years Gone" (7:44)
9. "The Rain Song" (2:26)
10. "Whole Lotta Love/Kashmire" (19:23)

I found this disc used for a mere 99¢ and actually debated whether or not it was even worth that much. To my surprise and
delight, this disc is quite good. Recorded live in NYC, the album features the drum talents of Jason Bonham, son of Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham, and a proficient backing band. Vocalist Charles West has a gritty voice that sounds like a cross between Robert Plant and Nazareth's Dan McCafferty. Bonham, the son, does and excellent job of emulating his father's style. With the possible exception of the vocals, the whole show sounds like it could have been an actual Zep show. I suppose some would frown on this, but I enjoyed it.

Back to Index