Danny Joe Brown
Danny Joe Brown Band is: Danny Joe Brown: Vocals, Bobby Ingram: Guitars/Slide/Vocals, Steve Wheeler: Guitars/Slide, John Galvin: Keyboards/ Vocals, Kenny McVay: Guitars, Buzzy Meekins: Bass/Vocals, Jimmy Glenn: Drums. Bobby Ingram and John Galvin later went on to join Molly Hatchet and both are with the band to this day.

Danny Joe Brown Band Danny Joe Brown & the Danny Joe Brown Band (Epic) 1981

1. "Sundance" (4:21)
2. "Nobody Walks on Me" (3:09)
3. "The Alamo" (3:06)
4. "Two Days Home" (3:16)
5. "Edge of Sundown" (6:34)
6. "Beggar Man" (3:46)
7. "Run for Your Life" (3:42)
8. "Hear My Song" (3:15)
9. "Gambler's Dream" (3:33)
10. "Hit the Road" (4:08)

This is an absolute essential disc to any Molly Hatchet fan. Danny Joe Brown's one and only solo album was released during his sabbatical from the band in the early 80's. The music as a whole has the same heavy southern rock feel that Hatchet had. The entire disc is quite good, but frankly "Edge of Sundown" is worth the price of admission by itself. This epic Southern Rock classic is Danny Joe's "Freebird." A monster song with a killer hook and plenty of guitar jams. Album opener "Sundance" is another great Southern romp. For some odd reason this cd is almost impossible to find, even though it was released on Epic Records. I have never seen a copy on any of the auction site. I wasn't even sure that this album was ever pressed on cd. I even emailed Sony asking them about this album and was eventually told that it was never released. Well apparently it was released in Europe. Thanks to a great friend, I am now the proud owner of one of the rarest southern rock cds ever.

In 2001, Molly Hatchet recorded an acoustic version of "Edge of Sundown".

Back to Index