Norway's Extol got together in early 1994 playing a progressive and technical style of death metal that incorporates elements of classic metal and black metal as well. They released one demo tape, much of which was later released on Rowe Productions compilation "Northern Lights." Soon after, Ole Borud from Schaliach (also featured on "Northern Lights"), joined the band and the Extol line-up was complete: Peter Espevoll (vocals), Christer Espevoll (guitars), Eystein Holm (bass), David Husvik (drums) and Ole Borud (guitars/vocals). I have seen Extol several times over the years and they are as good live as they are in the studio.

Burial Extol-Burial (Endtime Prod.)

1. "Into Another Dimension" -instrumental (1:28)
2. "Celestial Completion" (6:14)
3. "Burial" (4:49)
4. "Renhetens Elv" (6:21)
5. "Superior" (5:08)
6. "Reflections Of A Broken Soul" (7:28)
7. "Justified" (5:22)
8. "Embraced" (3:41)
9. "Innbydelse" (4:58)
10. "Tears Of Bitterness" (7:27)
11. "Work Of Art" (5:19)
12. "Jesus Kom Til Jorden For A Do" (3:47)

This is a masterpiece! Extol are masters of their craft, mixing elements of death metal, black metal and progressive metal yet somehow retaining a sense of melody and harmony. The vocals are mostly of the modern black metal nature (ie. cookie monster on steroids) but occasionally Ole' adds some clean vocals to make things interesting. Extol are one of the best bands to come out of the death metal scene in my opinion. A fan of any style of metal should be able to appreciate the musicianship and quality of "Burial." This album has also been released in the U.S. on Tooth & Nail, with slightly altered cover art.

The Japanese version of "Burial" has a bonus track ("Prodigal Son") which soon will be released on:

Mesmerized Extol-Mesmerized (Solid State)

1. "Enthralled" (3:58)
2. "Prodigal Son" (6:05)
3. "Storms of Disillusion" (5:11)
4. "Burial" (Sanctum Remix) (8:30)
5. "Renhetens Elv" (Sanctum Remix) (4:24)
6. "Work of Art" (Raison D'Etre Remix) (6:30)

Extol follow up their debut album Burial with the six-song digi-pack EP "Mesmerized" The first three songs are classic Extol material, some of it being re-recorded version of songs from their first demo. "Prodigal Son" is the bonus track off the Japanese version of "Burial" thereby negating my need to get that expensive import. The last three songs are annoying industrial remixes of songs from "Burial." Don't even think I have ever listened to all three all the way through yet. Probably never will.

Extol-Undeceived (Solid State)

1. "Inferno" (5:15)
2. "Undeceived" (7:07)
3. "Time Stands Still" (7:59)
4. "Ember" (6:29)
5. "Meadows of Silence" -instrumental (1:28)
6. "Shelter" (6:15)
7. "A Structure of Souls" (4:13)
8. "Of Light And Shade" (4:46)
9. "Where Sleep is Rest" -instrumental (3:18)
10. "Renewel" (5:06)
11. "Abandoned" -instrumental (:53)
12. "And I Watch" (4:31)

All I have to say is, Extol Rules! I didn't think they would be able to match their masterpiece "Burial" but they did, and exceeded it.

Extol also have three songs ("Viscious Intent," "Misunderstood," and "Seek the Righteous") on Northern Lights-Norwegian Metal Compilation (Rowe) Also "Celestial Completion" is on "This is Solid State Vol One"

Back to Index