Fabio Rocah's
S h i n i n g.. S t a r

Fabio Rocah's Shining Star-Fatal Mistake (Megahard Records) 2000

1. "Opening the Skies" -instrumental (1:23)
2. "Fatal Mistake" (3:42)
3. "Storm" (4:37)
4. "Master of the Skies" (4:15)
5. "Last Train" -instrumental (:53)
6. "Last Train to Heaven" (4:13)
7. "I Wish..." (4:46)
8. "You're Not Alone" (3:46)
9. "Alive and Well" (4:58)
10. "Ivan's Drum Solo" -instumental (1:27)
11. "1000 Years Ago" (4:39)

When I first heard about this cd, a few months before I finally got it, I thought to myself, "who the heck is Fabio Rocha?" Still have no clue who he is, but I do know that he is a proficient and highly skilled guitarist. It seems Brazil is currently exploding with power metal and classic heavy metal type bands powered by Brazil's Megahard Records. What is surprising is that many of these bands have Christian based lyrics. Shining Star is one of those bands and, comparing them to bands fellow Brazialian bands like Belica and Destra, they one of the top bands as well. Shining Star play melodic metal with touches of Yngwie Malmsteen's or Narnia's neo-classical metal sounds. The first time I heard this over a friends apartment I was impressed. When I finally secured my own copy in a trade from a Brazilian trader, I was even more impressed. I gave this disc plenty-o-spins just within the first few days of owning it. Fabio knows how to write a hook and along with gritty, yet melodic vocalist Nando Fernades, has turned in one hot metal platter. Apparently the reason for Fabio putting his name at the forefont is because non of the musicians on this disc are a permanent part of Shining Star and thus no band actually exists. From the rumors I have heard, Fabio is already at work on his next platter with a completely new band.

Back to Index