Godfear started out as Transcendence, a heavy progressive metal band. They released one demo tape before changing their name to Godfear. I had the pleasure of seeing them with Extraction and Ultimatum. Godfear released an awesome tape called "Know God" that combined a bit of their former style with their new thrash style. Eventually they released the indie cd "The Empty" before it was picked up by Juke Box Media. "Pound for Pound" was releases shortly before the band broke up.

The Empty Godfear-The Empty (Juke Box Media/Vizion)

1. "North of South" (3:21)
2. "Spare the Rod" (4:15)
3. "Weak Flesh" (3:27)
4. "Gone" (3:13)
5. "What A Sad Sight" (4:37)
6. "The Blood" (3:22)
7. "Wall of Facade" (4:03)
8. "The Empty" (3:30)
9. "Glory" (3:01)

After wearing out their first two demo tapes "Transcendence" and "Know God" I was really ready for this disc. When I first got it, I played it a lot, but since then have grown weary of Sean Vargas' constant screaming. The guy has this killer voice and he can pull of Geoff Tate in a heartbeat, but on this album he screams in a hardcore manner througout. I like the tape better as Sean varies his vocals more between the brutal screams and the melodic singing. Still there are some killer songs on this disc. "Spare the Rod" is absolutely pummeling! Play that one in the morning instead of a cup of coffee. "Glory" is the one song that Sean does sing in. The song is a mellow praise ballad, and is actually a great song. Man that guy can sing, too bad he didn't use it some more. The cover above is the re-issue. The original indie cover is similar but not as professional.

Pound for Pound Godfear-Pound for Pound (independant)

1. "My Swollen Eye" (4:29)
2. "At the Cross" (3:37)
3. "Pound for Pound" (4:44)
4. "Unblack" -instrumental (1:16)
5. "Speedball" -instrumental (1:16)
6. "Numbskull" (4:01)
7. "Abuse" (3:38)
8. "Redemption" (4:20)
9. "Ill" -instrumental (:46)
10. "Suffer This" (3:17)
11. "I Am" (2:59)
12. "Old Ways, New World" (3:10)
13. "Virus" -instrumental (:32)

Continuing in the Pantera mode, Godfear cranks out their last offering. These guys are stinking INTENSE, epecially the crunchy guitar tones and the over-the-top vocals. There are a few songs that let up for a bit however, like the surprisingly mellow acoustic guitar instrumentals "Unblack" and "Ill." Mike Swint is a talented guitarist with diverse abilities. The same could be said of vocalist Sean Vargas, who can scream with the best of 'em at one moment then switch over to an incredible singing voice the next.

On cassette tape:
Godfear-Know God (demo)

Back to Index