Italian power metal band formed in 1991.

Timeless Crime Labyrinth-Timeless Crime (Metal Blade) 1999

1. "Save Me" (5:35)
2. "Out of Memory" (4:51)
3. "In the Shade" (4:14)
4. "Failling Rain" (8:05)
5. "Die For My Sins" (3:53)

Absolutely killer power metal from Italy. What makes this disc essential is the hidden track at the end of track four: a killer cover of Sanctuary's "Die For My Sins." Unfortunately for me I made a STUPID trade for this disc. For some reason I thought it was the full length disc, so I traded an autographed copy of Seventhsign's "Transparent." This disc is long out of print and worth much more than the $9.99 you can buy the Labyrinth EP for new on-line. Oh well, live and learn. Of course now I have to find some more of this band's material. Labyrinth are simply awesome!

Sons of Thunder Labyrinth-Sons of Thunder (Metal Blade) 2000

1. "Chapter 1" (6:02)
2. "Kathryn" (5:03)
3. "Sons of Thunder" (5:01)
4. "Elegy" (4:40)
5. "Behide the Mask" (4:28)
6. "Touch the Rainbow" (5:17)
7. "Rage of the King" (4:54)
8. "Save Me" (6:10)
9. "Love" (4:35)
10. "I Feel You" (4:16)

I put off writing this review because I just wasn't sure how to express how much I like this disc. The best word I can think of to describe the music contained herin is DYNAMIC! Imagine mixing Dream Theater with Kansas, Watchtower, Nektar and some Metal Church and you might get a picture of what to expect. The music is technical, as good progressive metal should be, but the band also concentrates on writing actual songs, rather than just trying to show off their skills as musicians. At times the band is thrashing along as fast as the fastest speed metal band, then the next second they are off into some spacey acoustic thing. With that being said, I must stress again, that all this does not take away from the memorability of the songs. "Sons of Thunder" is absolutely one of the finest power metal discs to grace my cd player.

Back to Index