Menace to Society Lizzy Borden-Menace to Society (Metal Blade) 1986

  1. "Generation Aliens" (4:30)
  2. "Notorious" (4:14)
  3. Terror on the Town" (5:23)
  4. "Bloody Mary" (4:40)
  5. "Stiletto (Voice of Command)" (3:32)
  6. "Ultra Violence" (4:09)
  7. "Love Kills" (5:23)
  8. "Brass Tactics" (3:27)
  9. "Ursa Minor" (4:00)
  10. "Menace to Society" (4:08)

Big hair, big stage presence, big chainsaws, big tanks and heavy metal. What more could you ask for from a 1980's metal band? Metal Blade's house band, Lizzy Borden cranks out some decent heavy metal on this disc. Frizzy Lizzy's voice sounds good, having a sound like a more theatrical LA rocker. Reminds me slightly of W.A.S.P. with a better vocalist.

Master of Disguise Lizzy Borden-Master of Disguise (Metal Blade) 1989

1. "Master of Disguise" (7:20)
2. "One False Move" (3:19)
3. "Love Is a Crime" (4:56)
4. "Sins of the Flesh" (5:30)
5. "Phantoms" (5:40)
6. "Never Too Young" (4:47)
7. "Be One of Us" (4:03)
8. "Psychodrama" (4:38)
9. "Waiting in the Wings" (5:31)
10. "Roll over and Play Dead" (4:05)
11. "Under the Rose" (2:41)
12. "We Got the Power" (4:28)

Wow! This disc was a bit of a shock and surprise. I was already familiar with much of his early material, and it stayed within the confines of 80's heavy metal, never really straying far from that formula. Shock-rocker Lizzy Borden has always been known more as a follower of such bands as Kiss and Alice Cooper, loving the showmanship as much as the music and unfortunately never rising above the pack. This disc, however, is a big change. This is much more commercial adding in horns, keyboards and even some orchestration to Lizzy's metallic sounds. That is not to say this is totally wimpy, sellout pop metal. I actually enjoy this disc quite a bit. From the stories I have read, Lizzy fired his entire band and brought in some professional studio musicians for this disc, thus accounting for the radical change in style.

Back to Index