George Lynch

Sacred Groove George Lynch-Sacred Groove (Elektra) 1993

1. "Memory Jack" -instrumental (1:38)
2. "Love Power from the Mama Head" -instrumental (5:27)
3. "Flesh and Blood" (4:59)
4. "We Don't Own This World" (4:25)
5. "I Will Remember" -instrumental (4:16)
6. "The Beast, Pt. 1" (6:52)
7. "The Beast (Pt. II, Addiction to the Friction)" (2:47)
8. "Not Necessary Evil" (5:13)
9. "Cry of the Brave" (5:06)
10. "Tierra del Fuego" -instrumental (6:03)

Yes, I know, all those who have emailed me in the past, chastising me for not having a Dokken collection are falling over in their chairs right now. So, why would a guy who is not a huge Dokken fan care about a solo album from Dokken's guitarist? Well, to be quite honest, it's for the awesome vocalists that George uses on this disc including Ray Gillen (Badlands) and Glen Hughes. Besides, this disc absolutely annihilates from beginning to end. Some of the material is in the Satriani/Vai school of shred guitar instrumentals. The other songs would probably fall into the melodic metal/AOR label. Overall, the album is a good listen all the way through. Both the instrumental and the songs with vocals are very enjoyable. Of course having legends like Gillen and Hughes singing for you helps quite a bit, but the songwriting is quite good as well. Must also add, this disc sounds nothing like Dokken.

Back to Index