Lynyrd Skynyrd
Lynyrd Skynyrd (n) 1. Southern Rock!
Any questions?

Second Helping Lynyrd Skynyrd-Second Helping (MCA) 1974

1.   "Sweet Home Alabama" (4:42)
2.   "I Need You" (6:54)
3.   "Don't Ask Me No Questions" (3:24)
4.   "Workin' for MCA" (4:46)
5.   "Ballad of Curtis Loew" (4:45)
6.   "Swamp Music" (3:29)
7.   "Needle and the Spoon" (3:52)
8.   "Call Me the Breeze" (5:23)

This was actually their second cd, but it is also their finest. "Second Helping" is full of great southern rock jams like "Working for MCA, " "Call Me the Breeze, " "Swamp Music," "Don't Ask Me No Questions, " and "Ballad of Curtis Loew." That's not even counting the chart topping "Sweet Home Alabama." Waited forever to find a copy of this used. Finally found one for $4.99.

Twenty Lynyrd Skynyrd-Twenty (CMC) 1997

1. "We Ain't Much Different" (3:44)
2. "Bring It On" (4:56)
3. "Voodoo Lake" (4:37)
4. "Home Is Where the Heart Is" (5:26)
5. "Travelin' Man" (4:05)
6. "Talked Myself Right into It" (3:25)
7. "Never Too Late" (5:18)
8. "O.R.R." (4:16)
9. "Blame It on a Sad Song" (5:35)
10. "Berneice" (4:01)
11. "None of Us Are Free" (5:21)
12. "How Soon We Forget" (4:50)

Album number twenty for a band who has been to hell and back. For "Twenty" the group added two new members ex-Blackfoot Ricky Medlocke and former Outlaw Hughie Thomasson making the group a virtual Southern rock supergroup. I suppose some people feel this is a bad thing, but to be quite honest, I think "Twenty" is a good listen. Perhaps it will not gain them many new fans, but old fans should be satisfied as the disc is full of Southern rock and roll.

Extended Versions Lynyrd Skynyrd-Extended Versions: Encore Collections (BMG)

1.   "What's Your Name" -live (3:39)
2.   "We Ain't Much Different" (3:43)
3.   "Berneice" (4:01)
4.   Free Bird" -live (12:06)
5.   "Sweet Home Alabama" -live (7:06)
6.   "Home Is Where The Heart Is" (5:27)
7.   "O.R.R." (4:16)
8.   "Bring It On" (4:56)
9.   "You Got The Rhythm" (4:00)
10. "Travelin' Man" (4:05)

Extended Versions contains latter-day live recordings from a reincarnated version of Lynyrd Skynyrd plus a few newer songs. Not really that great of a collection, but it'll have to hold me over til I can get more Skynyrd in my collection.

Back to Index