Pretty Maids

Future World Pretty Maids-Future World (Columbia) 1987

1. "Future World" (5:22)
2. "Loud 'N' Proud" (3:51)
3. "Love Games" (4:13)
4. "Yellow Rain" (5:29)
5. "Rodeo" (4:14)
6. "We Came to Rock" (4:29)
7. "Needles in the Dark" (5:02)
8. "Eye of the Storm" (4:56)
9. "Long Way to Go" (3:28)

Perhaps I'm just getting the wrong discs, but I'm just not getting it. From some of the emails I get you would think that these guys were one of the greatest and heaviest power metal bands to ever walk the face of the earth. This is just not the case. Don't get me wrong, however, this album is actually very good, but it's not jaw dropping, ear splitting heavy metal. Rather, "Future World" is a quality commercial metal platter with touches of power metal. What gives it the slight power metal edge is the rough vocals which stand in direct opposition to much of what would have been considered pop metal in the 80's. The opening title track is a monster of a song, and the rest of the disc follows suite. The disc sports very cool cover art as well. I'll have to check out more of this bands music based on the strength of this disc.

Scream Pretty Maids-Scream (Massacre) 1995

1. "Rise" (4:34)
2. "Scream" (4:34)
3. "Psycho-Time-Bomb-Planet-Earth" (3:45)
4. "This Love" (4:38)
5. "Walk Away" (4:52)
6. "No Messiah" (4:06)
7. "In A World of Your Own" (5:04)
8. "Don't Turn Your Sex On Me" (3:58)
9. "Adrenalin Junkie" (4:52)
10. "Anytime Anywhere" (5:00)

After hearing Hammerfall's incredible version of Pretty Maids' "Back to Back" I decided to check them out. I was expecting some screaming metal, but what I got was pop metal. Argh! I must admit, I was disappointed but once I got past that initial dissapoinment, I discovered that this was a decent pop-metal disc. I swear I have heard "Walk Away" before, but I do not think it was a hit or a remake. Hmmm...anyhow, one of these days I will have to give a chance to some of their older material. I have heard that it's heavier.

Anything Worth Doing Pretty Maids-Anything Worth Doing, Is Worth Overdoing (Scandanavian Records) 1999

1. "Snakes In Eden" (5:16)
2. "Destination Paradise" (3:31)
3. "Hell On High Heels" (4:06)
4. "When The Angels Cry" (5:55)
5. "Back Off" (3:50)
6. "Only In America" (4:01)
7. "With These Eyes" (5:15)
8. "Anything Worth Doing Is Worth Overdoing" (4:11)
9. "Scent Of My Prey" (4:11)
10 . "Face Me" (4:26)
11. "Loveshine" (4:46)

Well, one thing is for sure, these guys certainly have not followed any trends nor strayed from what they do best. "Anything Worth Doing" is a fine slab of melodic heavy metal, not unlike the stuff they did back in the 80's. I guess when you know what you do best, you stick to it, and certainly Pretty Maids are at their best playing melodic metal. The one thing that has changed is the production which actually makes the tunes a bit heavier sounding. With a few more listens I can see this cd becoming one of my absolute favorites.

Back to Index