Thrash metal band from Kreuztal, Germany. I've been on a quest to find this band's cds ever since a friend sent me a copy of "Who Dominates Who?" . Unfortunately only one of their cds was ever released in the U.S. ("Reflections") and even this disc is out or print.

Accužer-The Conviction/Experimental Errors (Koch) 1987/1988

1. "Evil liar" (5:56)
2. "Down by law" (7:18)
3. "Law of war" (4:10)
4. "Screaming for guilt" (4:01)
5. "Accuser" (10:20)
6. "Sadistic terror" (3:19)
7. "The conviction" (6:06)
8. "The persuasion" (1:29)
9. "Black suicide" (6:14)
10. "Terroristic violence" (6:00)
11. "Technical excess" (8:00)
12. "F-H-W-C" (3:42)
13. "Ratouli " (:25)

This is a 1997 cd re-issue of Accužer's first two albums on one disc. Both discs are outstanding, raw and speedy thrash metal, not unlike fellow German thrashers Kreator and Destruction. Being that this is true, I wonder why these guys never reached the plateau of success or don't have the underground following that these bands have. Perhaps it was marketing, or maybe it was the terrible cover art, because it sure isn't the music. Everything is in place, right down to the epic songs, technical song structures, raw vocals and aggressive delivery.

Plugged in Permanent Accužer-Who Dominates Who? (Atom H) 1989

1. "Master of Disaster" (7:47)
2. "Who Pulls the Wire?" (4:16)
3. "Elected to Suffer" (6:39)
4. "Symbol of Hate" (5:35)
5. "Who Dominates Who? " (5:14)
6. "Bastard" (6:08)
7. "Called to the Bench" (8:22)
8. "Black Suicide" (6:14)
9. "Terrorist Violence" (6:00)

This was a cool surprise gift from a good friend from overseas. I can't say that I have actually heard of this band before, but I'm certainly happy to have received it. Accusser play late 80's technical thrash metal. Their sound is similar in style to what many of the thrash bands of the times were doing, which is just fine in my opinion as I love this style. I wish there were still bands left that sounded like this: speedy riffs, fast solos, pummeling double bass and aggressive, yet coherent vocals.

Double Talk Accužer-Double Talk (Atom H) 1991

1. "Double Talk" (2:53)
2. "The Freeze" (5:29)
3. "Money" (6:59)
4. "Flag Waver" (8:13)
5. "Why Me" (5:02)
6. "Indistinct Articulation" (:32)
7. "Revolution" (8:05)
8. "Alcowhore" (7:24)
9. "Accuser" (10:20)
10. "Sadistic Terror" (3:19)
11. "The Conviction" (6:06)

Mosh it up baby! What we have here is some fast and furious, technical thrash with serious Bay Area influences. I hear little of the German influence on this disc, as was on some of their past albums. Accuser's "Double Talk" could have been released with the flood of Bay Area thrash that was being released in '91 and they would have been ahead of the pack. Unfortunately they had no U.S. distribution and little in the way of marketing so instead of being leaders, they were relegated to having an underground cult following. I like the cover art as well. One minor irritant is the mastering on this disc is rather low.

Accužer-Reflections (Major Records) 1994

1. "The Wreckage" (3:11)
2. "Misery" (6:03)
3. "Cowboy on a String" (3:39)
4. "The Jack of All Trades" (5:40)
5. "Reflections" -instrumental (1:53)
6. "Unite/Divide" (5:14)
7. "Into the Void" (6:25)
8. "Burn!" (5:06)
9. "Manic Ride" (5:40)

Reflections is a pulverizing, knee-jerking, neck-snapping, head-banging assault to the ears. Accuser add some new, more modern ideas to their already aggressive thrash sound and come up with a cross between Machine Head and Testament with a Megadeth-like accessibility. This is one of those discs that are dangerous to play in your car because speed limits tend to be forgotten. Accuser are certainly one of the best, albeit one of the most unknown, of the thrash metal genre. Century Media released this disc in America with similar artwork and the exact same track listing and order. This is the only Accužer to see release in the U.S.

Accužer-Taken By The Throat (Koch) 1995

1. "Helium" (4:14)
2. "Taken by the Throat" (3:51)
3. "Fatal Vision" (4:38)
4. "Fire Ignites" (4:25)
5. "Obey!" (3:38)
6. "Condemnation" (4:22)
7. "Blasting In Progress" (6:28)
8. "The Slug" (4:30)
9. "Stonefaced" (3:48)
10. "Amnesia" (5:32)

This album is just freaking brutal. Thoughts of Sepultura meets Carcass came to mind as I was thrashing my car speakers the first time I popped this disc in. How this band never made it outside Germany, like fellow thrashers Kreator or Destruction is beyond me. The vocals take on a slightly hardcore yell, as opposed to the more thrash like singing of their earlier albums. The guitar riffs on this album are outstanding and would leave Pantera with jaws dropped to the floor. I'm not 100% sure of this but I think this was the band's last release after close to ten years together. I assume that the band was frustrated by a lack of success after releasing so many stellar albums over the years.

Back to Index