Laaz Rockit

Despite the glam sounding name, Lääz Rockit started off as a power metal band and progressed into a more aggressive thrash band with each album.

Cities Gonna Burn Lääz Rockit-Citys Gonna Burn (Old Metal) 1984

1."City's Gonna Burn" (4:19)
2."Caught in the Act" (3:11)
3."Take No Prisoners" (3:58)
4."Dead Man's Eyes" (3:38)
5."Forced to Fight" (3:48)
6."Silent Scream" (3:57)
7."Prelude" (4:03)
8."Something More" (2:57)

After hearing the incredible "Annihillation Principle," this disc was sort of a let down. Solid & heavy power metal but with very poor production. Sort of reminds me of Helstar's first disc "Burning Star."

No Stranger to Danger Lääz Rockit-No Stranger to Danger (Old Metal) 1985

1. "Dreams Die Hard" (4:42)
2. "I've Got Time" (4:40)
3. "Town to Town" (4:08)
4. "Backbreaker" (3:45)
5. "Stand Alone" (4:19)
6. "Spared from the Fire" (4:23)
7. "Off the Deep End" (3:35)
8. "Tonight Alive" (3:39)
9. "Wrecking Machine" (4:43)
10. "Euroshima"-live (4:24)
11. "Spared from the Fire"-live (4:59)
12. "Prelude to Death"-live (4:09)
13. "Forced to Fight"-live (4:14)
14. "Leatherface" (4:24)

Often panned as the band's worst album, due to a very poor production, but I don't think it's as bad as most reviewers say. The "Collector's Guide to Heavy Metal" says this is "metal of the lowest common denominator" and rated it a 1 out of 10. I definitely wouldn't go that far. Perhaps it's not as good as their next disc, but this is still good American power metal. This Old Metal Records reissue adds four excellent live tracks along with "Leatherface" from the movie of the same name. Two of the live trax are from the "Holiday in Cambodia" CD single.

Know Your Enemy Lääz Rockit-Know Your Enemy (Old Metal) 1987

1."Demolition"-instrumental (1:14)
2."Last Breath" (4:37)
3."Euroshima" (3:52)
4."Most Dangerous Game" (5:07)
5."Shot to Hell" (4:54)
6."Say Goodbye M.F." (4:14)
7."Self Destruct" (5:37)
8."Means to an End" (4:47)
9."I'm Electric" (3:03)
10."Mad Axe Attack"-instrumental (2:13)
11."Shit's Ugly" (1:37)
12. "Hell (Intro)/Prelude to Death" -demo (4:19)
13. "Black Leather" -demo (5:16)
14. "Silent Scream" -demo (4:55)

I could kick myself for not picking this one up at the same time I picked up "Annihilation Principle." I found both Enigma Records discs at a small used cd shop for $7 each. For some reason I only picked up the one. Of course when I went back to get the other, it was gone. Well, I was not going to pay $40+ on eBay, so I waited knowing that someday, someone would re-release it. Well, thanks be to Old Metal Records for re-releasing this classic. "Know Your Enemy" was the band's first attempt at thrash metal and they gave it all they had. This is an excellent disc, and probably my favorite Lääz album. Loads of speedy riffs, great mid to high range vocals and memorable songs. The band definitely hit their stride on this one.

The Old Metal reissue features three bonus tracks that are hidden at the end of "Shit's Ugly." At 3:38 seconds into track 11, the opening "Hell" begins. I assume these tracks are all from one of their early demos. If someone knows the name of that demo, let me know. The production on these tracks are obviously inferior to the rest of the disc, but still listenable. The source sounds like it may have been from a cassette as there is a slight hiss and the sound wavers slightly here and there.

Annihilation Principle Lääz Rockit-Annihilation Principle (Enigma) 1989

1."Fire in the Hole" (3:50)
2."Mob Justice" (5:00)
3."Chain of Fools" (4:16)
4."Shadow Company" (6:19)
5."Holiday in Cambodia (Digital Mix)" (3:46)
6."Bad Blood" (4:36)
7."Chasin' Charlie" (4:41)
8."Mirror to Madness" (5:09)
9."The Omen" (6:38)

This was the first Laaz Rockit cd I had ever heard, and despite the glam sounding name, this was very cool thrash metal. In my opinion, this disc is far superior to "City's Gonna Burn." I guess this disc is somewhat rare and people are paying stupid amounts of money for it. I've heard of people paying upwards to $50! OUCH! I bought mine for $7 at a used cd store. "Holiday in Cambodia" is a Dead Kennedy's cover.

Nothing$ $acred Lääz Rockit-Nothing$ $acred (Canyon International) 1991

1. "In The Name of the Father and the Gun" (4:14)
2. "Into the Asylum" (4:56)
3. "Greed Machine" (4:28)
4. "Too Far Gone" (3:45)
5. "Curiosity Kills" (3:18)
6. "Suicide City" (4:26)
7. "The Enemy Within" (5:53)
8. "Nobody's Child" (3:43)
9. "Silence is a Lie" (3:45)
10. "Necropolis" (3:52)

What a deal, got this good'n from a Japanese trader in exchange for a Bloodgood disc I had an extra copy of. When it arrived in my mail box I discovered it was the original Japanese pressing with the sticker and poster still included. Cool! Sometimes good things happen. In any case, by this point Laaz was a full throttle thrash band and lost almost all the catchy hooks of past discs like "Annihilation Principle." Still gotta love that Japanese writing.

Taste of Rebellion Laaz Rockit-Taste of Rebellion-Live in Citta (Canyon International) 1992

1. "In the Name of the Father and the Gun" (4:55)
2. "Greed Machine" (4:30)
3. "Fire in the Hole" (3:58)
4. "City's Gonna Burn" (5:25)
5. "Leatherface" (4:04)
6. "The Omen" (6:18)
7. "Suicide City" (4:32)
8. "The Enemy Within" (5:41)
9. "Prelude" (4:06)
10. "Into the Asylum" (5:41)
11. "Holiday in Cambodia" (4:11)
12. "Curiosity Kills" (3:56)

A fast and furious live set that was released in Japan only, for some unknown reason. Could be that the band was in turmoil over their losing so many members and getting ripped off by their former record company that claimed bankruptcy, leaving the band hanging. In any case, I had been searching for this disc for years and finally secured this copy thanks to the generosity of a friend from Illinois. So, unless the band should happen to get the dreaded reunion bug that is going around, my Laaz Rockit collection is finally complete.

Back to Index