In the late 80's I picked up a demo cassette called 'A Christian Banned' by a punk band called 'One Bad Pig.' It's been a fun ride ever since.

Smash One Bad Pig-Smash (Pure Metal) 1989

  1. "Godarchy"
  2. "Isaiah 6"
  3. "Letīs Be Frank"
  4. "People Cry Out"
  5. "Frat Rats"
  6. "Smash The Guitar"
  7. "Kingdom Come"
  8. "Take A Flying Leap"
  9. "Iīm Not Getting Any Older"
  10. "Looney Tune"
  11. "Donīt Be Fooled Blow And Go"

One Bad Pig begins a crossover from a more traditional punk sound to a thrash crossover. Loads of great anthems and humerous lyrics on this one. Still have my crappy cassette copy. Need to find a cd copy.

Swine Flew One Bad Pig-Swine Flew (Myrrh) 1990

1. "See Me Sweat: (2:38)
2. "Altar Ego" (4:09)
3. "Hey Punk" (1:40)
4. "Red River" (5:04)
5. "Bowl of Wrath" (2:15)
6. "Big Stomach" (3:39)
7. "Christmas Time" (4:15)
8. "Judas' Kiss" (3:24)
9. "Desperation" (4:38)
10. "Thrash Against Sin" (1:31)
11. "Swine Flew" (3:33)
12. "When Your Love Died" (5:29)
13. "We Want You" (3:55)

Ahhh, I can finally trash those old cassette tapes I have had for ten plus years as I finally replaced them with some shiny new cds. Well, actually they are used, but you get the point. One Bad Pig are a bubbling cauldron of fun. They were typically classified as a punk band, but really their music was a mish-mash of punk, funk, rock and thrash, all rolled into on Sunday School class for juvenile delinquents. No doubt the lyrical themes were all patently Christian, but these guys made learning your Sunday School lessons fun. They could take serious topics like the wrath of God, and add some humor to it to bring home the message, without actually diluting the message. "Bowl of Wrath, Breakfast on the crooked path! If you choose to laugh, you can have another "Bowl of Wrath!" Gotta love it! At the same time, they could bring me to my knees in worship like no other band with songs like "When Your Love Died" and "Red River," the later sounding more like a U2 song than anything by a punk band. Even a thrashing version of Petra's "Judas' Kiss." Was 'blessed' to see the Pig on this tour at a volleyball court in Albuquerque, NM. One other note about this album is that it was one of the first 'heavy' bands to ever be released on Myrrh Records, a label more known for acts like Amy Grant. Anyone need a Pig cassette?

"Red River" has been covered by Slamcat and Deuteronomium.

I Scream Sunday One Bad Pig-I Scream Sunday (Myrrh) 1991

1. "Take A Look At Yourself" (4:22)
2. "You're A Pagan" (2:18)
3. "I Scream Sunday" (3:14)
4. "Man In Black" (4:00)
5. "Not Love Money" (4:18)
6. "Cut Your Hair" (5:11)
7. "For A Good Man" (4:05)
8. "Ice Cream Sundae" (2:03)
9. "Bird Nest" (3:06)
10. "Up the Nose" (:55)
11. "Spirit of Murder" (4:58)
12. "Sober Up" (2:42)
13. "Pad Thai" (:20)
14. "Never Forget the Cross" (4:22)
15. "Wholly My Lord" (3:50)

A spastic mix of funk, punk and thrash metal all mixed around a message of God, redemption and ice cream. Much in the same mold as 'Swine Flew.' Also similar is that this album was once again produced by Whiteheart's Billy Smilley. This one is just as fun too with a slamdance called "You're a Pagan," and off-the-wall Johnny Cash cover "Man in Black," complete with Johnny sharing lead vocal duties. Of course who wouldn't love a song called 'Up Your Nose'? Once again, amidst all the fun are some emotional worship songs in "For a Good Man" and "Wholly My Lord." Man, that is One Bad Pig!

One Bad Pig-Quientessential One Bad Pig Vol. 1 (Diadem) 1994

1. "People Cry Out" (
2. "Lust" (
3. "I Am The Chief" (
4. "Let´s Be Frank" (
5. "I´m Not Getting Any Older" (
6. "The Man In Black" (
7. "Life´s A Bomb" (
8. "Sleepin´ With The World" (
9. "Isaiah 6" (
10. "Red River" (
11. "Be Not Alarmed" (

A greatest hits cd, if the Pig actually had a 'hit'. The nice thing about this disc is that it features a few songs from albums I have yet to find on cd. There are several songs from 'Smash' and two songs from 'A Christian Banned' ('Sleepin' With the World' & 'Life¹s A Bomb'). This demo has yet to even be released on disc, although there are rumors that M8 will release ('Smash' together with this demo on one cd. If I am not mistaken, 'Lust' and 'I Am the Chief' are cds exclusive to this compilation as well. "Be Not Alarmed" is a hidden track.

Back to Index