Australian doom metal led by guitarist/vocalist Andrew Tompkins.

Exhumed of the Earth Paramaecium-Exhumed of the Earth by Paramaecium (R.E.X.) 1994

1. The Unnatural Conception" in two parts (17:00)
a. The Birth
b. The Massacre of the Innocents
2. "Injudicial" (4:35)
3. "The Killing" (6:27)
4. "The Voyage of the Severed" (9:21)
5. "Untombed" (10:30)
6. "Haemorrhage of Hatred" (7:17)
7. "Removed of the Grave" (10:35)

This is a masterpiece of epic, orchestrated, death-doom metal. The first song alone is worth the price of admission. The mesmorizingly slow drudge, while simplistic, somehow manages to hold my attention. Female opera vocalist Rosemary Sutton is spell binding on top of the heavily downtuned guitars. The double bass in this opening is slow and steady, which is much more difficult than one might imagine. Speaking of drums, former Mortification drummer Jayson Sherlock has joined the Parameacium ranks just in time to record this awesome disc. Jayson also did the caligraphy for the cover and insert. "Exhumed of the Earth" is one of those discs that has been released several times on several different labels, yet it is still difficult to get. Go figure! If anyone reading this is a fan of symphonic, epic doom metal with death vocals and you do not own this, you are missing out. Not since Believer's spectacular "Trilogy of Knowledge" have I heard an album that combines opera, classical music and grinding metal so well.

Within the Ancient Forest Paramæcium-Within the Ancient Forest 1996

1. "In Exordium" (4:39)
2. "Song of the Ancient" (6:57)
3. "I Am Not Alive" (9:14)
4. "The Grave, My Soul" (9:01)
5. "Gone is My Former Resolve" (8:31)
6. "Or My Darkest Hour" (7:36)
7. "Darkness Dies" (8:46)

Another pure masterwork only this time with even more symphonic elements, i.e. flutes, violines, chellos, harpsicords, etc. Another element that adds to the appeal is the outstanding opera vocals of Sue Bock, who has an amazing voice. This particular album is a concept album based on a book, also titled "Within the Ancient Forest" written by guitarist/vocalist Andrew Tompkins. The story is of a young man in search of truth in a land where immortals, dragons, magic, and the powers of darkness prevail. I have never read the book, but the music is fabulous, even without the storyline.

Around this same time, drummer/songwritter/artist Jayson Sherlock quit to persue something even more extreme--Horde. The rest of the band soon abandoned Andrew as well. From the ashes Andrew hooked up with former Seventh Angel guitarist Ian Arkley to record:

A Time to Mourn Paramæcium-A Time To Mourn 1999

1. "A Moment" (3:12)
2. "I'm Not To Blame" (4:44)
3. "My Thoughts" (4:46)
4. Betrayed Again" (5:16)
5. "Enter in Time" (5:22)
6. "Live for the Day" (9:09)
7. "Even the Walls" (5:03)
8. "Unceasing" (3:11)

Most people thought that "Ancient Forest" would be the last Paramaecium disc, myself included. But Andrew returned with yet another doom opus. I can't honestly say that this is the masterpiece that I consider the first two discs to be, but I can say this it is still a good doom metal album. The symphonic elements are gone, as are the more complex song structures, but still the slow doomy sludge remains.

Back to Index