Die Happy
Die Happy formed after four of the five members of Vengeance Rising decided they want to go in a different musical direction, leaving sole member, Roger Martinez to forge ahead with Vengeance alone.

Die Happy Die Happy (Intense)

1. "Renaissance" (3:11)
2. "Perpetual Motion" (3:21)
3. "Die Happy" (4:52)
4. "Bone Doctor" (3:16)
5. "Cage" (4:07)
6. "Real" (5:10)
7. "Slide Rule" (5:54)
8. "Painted Truth" (3:11)
9. "Celebration" (5:38)
10. "Melrose" (4:12)
11. "Silver Cloud" -instrumental (6:05)

Die Happy's debut featured four members of Vengeance Rising and vocalist Robin "Kyle" Basauri, who was suppose to just be a guest vocalist. The music is still heavy and retains some of the Vengeance sound, but adds a bit more groove. Robin's vocals are the big difference. Where Roger was a growler, Robin has a powerhouse singing voice with a wide range. This is probably one of the best discs most people have never heard.

Die Happy-Volume II (Intense)

1. "Sticks and Stones" (3:55)
2. "Justified" (3:32)
3. "Love Sick Dog" (4:11)
4. "Tear Gallery" (5:57)
5. "Blue" (4:18)
6. "Talk" (5:29)
7. "Eden" (5:15)
8. "Cole's Atomic Funk Thang" -instrumental (2:05)
9. "Temple of the Soul" (5:02)

Die Happy gets even further away from the Vengeance thrash metal sound and adds more funk and groove into their still quite heavy metal. New bassist Greg Chaisson (ex-Badlands) had an obvious hand in the style change as his bass is featured quite a bit, especially in the instrumental "Cole's Atomic Funk Thang." Robin Basauri is back and now listed as a member of the band. Another big difference is that Die Happy has added a few power ballads to the mixture. Robin's powerful voice does an excellent job on both the heavy and the mellower numbers. This is a great follow-up to the debut and my favorite of the two.

Intense Live Series Vol 4 Die Happy-Intense Live Series Vol. 4 (Intense)

1. "Justified" (3:57)
2. "In studio" (:07)
3. "Painted Truth" (3:48)
4. "In studio" (:07)
5. "Temple of the Soul" (5:57)
6. "In studio" (:10)
7. "Celebration" (5:39)
8. "In studio" (:36)
9. "Endless Love" (4:16)
10. "All Over Me" (5:57)

A short live in the studio EP. If the liner notes be true, then most of this was recorded without edits and in one or two takes, proving this to be one tight band. The "in studio" stuff is just bits of the band talking or goofing around in the studio. "Temple of the Spirit" features an extended acoustic jam in the middle and Greg Chaisson's vocal premier. "Endless Love" is a new ballad. "All Over Me" is a Petra cover.

Back to Index