Wolverine Blues Entombed-Wolverine Blues (Earache)

1.   "Eyemaster" (3:20)
2.   "Rotten Soil" (3:23)
3.   "Wolverine Blues" (2:13)
4.   "Demon" (3:18)
5.   "Contempt" (4:31)
6.   "Full of Hell" (3:21)
7.   "Blood Song" (3:23)
8.   "Hollowman" (4:25)
9.   "Heaven's Die" (4:13)
10. "Out of Hand" (3:07)

"Wolverine Blues" is one of the best death metal albums. Why? Because instead of just playing as fast as they can, Entombed also know how to use a mid-paced Black Sabbath like grooves, slower musical interludes and good songwriting to create a mood. Of course, they still have the heavily down tuned guitars, the brutal "look how scary we are" lyrics, and the typical Cookie-Monster-on-crack barked out vocals. What helps make this such a strong album is the song structures that seems more rooted in old-school heavy metal like Judas Priest than death metal, making the music more accessible to fans of more traditional styles of metal, like myself.

Oh, and one other thing. I always love when these self-proclaimed philosophers, who say they are not preaching a message, have messages like the one in "Out of Hand." "Jesus Christ, lord of flies, in disguise...it's f****ed to hear one idiot's words, but worse to see others believe it. F***ed up minds in f***ed up times...it's all built on lies, out of hand is this a f***ing joke, out of mind and it makes me f***ing chock, f**k!" Ah, now there are some intelligent lyrics. The idea of the song alone is ignorant, but add to that the fact that he can't even sing two lines without using the same expletive and you've got some real intelligent lyrics. Buy a dictionary! Brilliant music, stupid lyrics!

Back to Index