American power/speed metal!

Haven-Your Dying Day (R.E.X.)

1. "On Judgement Day" (5:22)
2. "Deliver Me" (4:47)
3. "Murder" (4:48)
4. "Below the Grave" (2:49)
5. "The Calling" (5:36)
6. "America" (4:38)
7. "Escape" (4:34)
8. "Help Me Follow" (3:23)
9. "I Found Love" (5:35)
10. "Your Dying Day" (5:37)

This band always was labeled thrash but they are NOT! Haven are power metal, maybe speed metal, but not thrash. Vocalist Kevin Ayers has an exaggerated John Arc (Ex-Fates Warning) meets Warrel Dane (Nevermore/Sanctuary) style. He tends to use a lot of exaggerated vibrato when he sings which at times can be annoying but generally works well with the heavy power metal his band is cranking out. A bit of trivia about this band, when this album came out all their members except Kevin (who was 21 I think) were under 19.

There is also a remix version of "The Calling" on R.E.X.'s "Argh!!!" compilation.

Haven-Age of Darkness (R.E.X.)

1. "Tenacious Volition" -instumental (1:14)
2. "Divination" (4:46)
3. "When You Said Goodbye" (5:30)
4. "Holly" (5:15)
5. "Exaltation" (1:06)
6. "The Witching Hour" (7:00)
7. "Seance" (5:17)
8. "Spend My Life With You" (5:21)
9. "Unchanging Love" (4:57)
10. "Blood of the Lamb" (4:42)
11. "Once Upon A Time" (3:10)

"Age of Darkness" is a bit more melodic, more technical and more mature than "Your Dying Day," but is still heavy, aggressive and very memorable. The acoustic ballad "Once Upon A Time" is really cool as the music is played backwards as Kevin sings over top (forwards of course). "Blood of the Lamb" pushes the thrash envelope but the majority of the music is just quality melodic power metal. As a whole, this album is probably my favorite of the three Haven albums.

Haven-Haven (indie)

1. "Haven" (6:45)
2. "Her Eyes Can't Hide" (1:43)
3. "Falling Down" (4:57)
4. "Her Eyes Can't Hide (Conclusion)" (:05)
5. "Don't Let the Moment Slip Away" (6:36)
6. "Prisoner" (7:09)
7. "I Will Follow" (6:18)
8. "Love From Above" (5:45)
9. "When Jesus Lights the Way" (7:32)
10. "The Almighty" (4:03)
11. "Don't Run Away" (6:21)
12. "Without Excuse" (5:43)

After R.E.X. went under, Haven sort of disappeared for a while. A few years late I saw an ad for this disc in HM Magazine and decided to check it out. Kevin Ayers is the only original band member, but the music has not changed dramatically. There are few more modern elements but overall this is another stellar power metal album. The cover art is a bit weak, but the mix and the mastering arenít bad for an indie.

Back to Index